XP 70 help

For questions, articles and discussions regarding water blaster maintenance and repairs.
the oncoming storm
WWN League Team: Havoc

XP 70 help

Post by the oncoming storm » Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:22 pm

My just aquirerd 70 has a problem, it bleads water from the PC till it is up to presuser, any ideas why and how to fix it.
If you ever bother reading these, I worry for your mental sanity. :oo:

Nitro123PG

Re: XP 70 help

Post by Nitro123PG » Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:44 pm

I'm not an expert on gun repairs, but I try to help.

Where does it leak from? Directly from the PC, through the nozzle, or elsewhere. If it leaks from the nozzle, and appears to fix itself after more pumping, you probably just need to do a quick rubber band repair. If it leaks directly from the PC, I guess it some type of seal issue that I cannot fix. Otherwise, I would assume the pipe has sprung a leak, but if it stops when to full pressure like you said, that is not the case.

No matter what, you will need to open your gun to fix the problem. When it is open, pump the gun to see exactly where it leaks from, and repair accordingly.

Andrew

Post by Andrew » Fri Apr 27, 2012 12:15 pm

If it leaks around where the pc meets the body of the blaster, then it may well be one of the seals. For whatever reason (it sure helps when stripping for repair though!) the internals of the XP70 are held together by the bodywork and are joined together with slip on connectors with o-ring seals.

There is one of these seals is at the base of the PC. If this o-ring has somehow been damaged, or is worn, or if there is something between the o-ring and the collar of the t-junction then it won't seal correctly. If the o-ring, or even the inside of the collar is worn, this would explain the leak disappearing when under pressure, as the PC would move upwards into a tighter spot in the collar (I could be wrong but mine seems to get slightly wider near the base of the collar) creating a tighter seal, stopping the leak.