nozzle drilling

For questions, articles, and discussions regarding water blaster modifications.
Dacca

Post by Dacca » Mon Jul 31, 2006 4:19 pm

So I was going to attempt nozzle drilling my defender, but cause I've never done this before I don't exactly know how far down to go into the nozzle. also, would the FF benifit from a slightly wider nozzle to the main trigger? I would think so seeing how it is such a small nozzle. I plan on preforming a colossus and CVF later on so it wouldnt hurt to drill it now anyways. any suggestions on drill bit to use on the ff?
more reliable then a max-D trigger

DX

Post by DX » Mon Jul 31, 2006 7:49 pm

For the Defender, drill about 1/3 of the way into the nozzle. Then saw or sand carefully so the resulting cut is nice and smooth.

For the FF, definately widen the main nozzle. I don't know which size bit to use off the top of my head. Look at it, compare bits to the nozzle, and use common sense. If one is close to the size of the nozzle, then use it.
marauder wrote:You have to explain things in terms that kids will understand, like videogames^ That's how I got Sam to stop using piston pumpers

dragonclass

Post by dragonclass » Tue Aug 01, 2006 12:27 am

For my Defender, I used a 3/32" bit(creates 2x stream) and if you have a steady enough hand you'll actually feel when you are past the nozzle getting close to the ball valve. Test this by using a small drill bit to measure the depth. As Duxburian will tell you, bigger bits(large stream vs shot time/distance?) can be used...I just didn't have to saw or sand. As for the FF, isoaker has some pics of the '05 I sold that haven't been put into the gallery yet(along with some others). Additional ideas are also there under dragon-class. My FF, Devestator, SC500, and SC600 have all been bored using a 1/8" drill bit turning the streams into 5x. Good luck, Brad

Edited By dragonclass on 1154535881
Brad Beaty
Engineman 1st class(ret)
US Naval Expeditionary Command(NECC)