Has anyone here made a CPS with an electric pump?

Guides and discussions about building water blasters and other water warfare devices such as water balloon launchers.
theTman1221

Has anyone here made a CPS with an electric pump?

Post by theTman1221 » Mon Jul 22, 2013 10:25 pm

I was just wondering if anyone here has made a CPS style water gun using an electric pump. I have thought about using a rechargeable NiMH battery pack for power as I have dealt with them a lot when I was into RC cars. I think it would be possible for a pump powered from such a pack to pump up a bladder if it has enough torque. It may be a little on the slow side though. I'm going to dig around to see what I can find for DC water pumps.

I'm new to the forum and have never built a gun, but have been doing research and I am an engineering student with a knack for this sort of thing. My basic idea is a water reservoir with an electric pump pushing water through a check valve and into a bladder made of layered balloons, and then maybe use an electric sprinkler valve for the trigger (I've seen them work wonders for air cannon triggers) Naturally this would require proper waterproofing, but if I can make a submersible rock crawling RC car this should be easy lol!

Hopefully someone has tried this and can offer advice, but in the meantime I'll be looking around to see if I can find a suitable pump.

theTman1221

Re: Has anyone here made a CPS with an electric pump?

Post by theTman1221 » Mon Jul 22, 2013 11:19 pm

Update: I looked around online, and while I found many DC mini water pumps, most did not list pressure tolerance. On Ebay there was a series of submersible water pumps that could handle 70 psi and draw around 850mah (that means you could run the pump for a few hours on a good NIMH battery pack). A lot more research is required, but this may be a possibility.

DX

Post by DX » Mon Jul 22, 2013 11:48 pm