Automatic Water Balloons?

Guides and discussions about building water blasters and other water warfare devices such as water balloon launchers.
BennySquire

Automatic Water Balloons?

Post by BennySquire » Fri Mar 19, 2010 11:46 am

Hi, I'm a new member here and I have an idea for a unique type of water gun :)

I was wondering if it would be possible to build a fully automatic or semi-automatic water gun that shoots small water balloons from a magazine, without being dangerous due to the high velocity of the water balloons. I have never built a water gun before so I'm not sure how the inner mechanism would work or even if it would be possible.

Thanks very much :)

isoaker

Re: Automatic Water Balloons?

Post by isoaker » Fri Mar 19, 2010 12:22 pm

Welcome to the forums!

While possible, there are two major issues which are likely the main reasons such a water gun will not be made. First is that if a device can lob water balloons a decent range, it can be used to lob other things that simply shouldn't be fired. Second is that water balloons are actually being more discouraged these days since burst balloons pose a significant choking hazard to small children. While this doesn't seem to be an issue for older users, litter and public opinion would further complicate any attempts at developing such a device.

In a perfect dream land, I, too, would love to have a rapid-fire water balloon launcher, but reality is this isn't likely going to be formally developed, at least not by a manufacturer, and remain in the realm of the really avid homemade builder.

:cool:
:: Leave NO one dry! :: iSoaker.com .:

HBWW
WWN League Team: Havoc

Post by HBWW » Fri Mar 19, 2010 3:02 pm

Somebody posted a thread on this at SSC here.

It can certainly be done, but only if you have the resources and are better at it than we are. A magazine may not be advisable and a hopper may be prefered, but you'll have to figure that all out if you want to make one.