Type of Pipe

Guides and discussions about building water blasters and other water warfare devices such as water balloon launchers.
teamfear

Type of Pipe

Post by teamfear » Thu Jul 17, 2008 10:59 am

I am going to build a wbl in the next month and have a question about pipe. I know PVC pipe is usally what most people use but i think my local hardware store only carries ABS pipe. Will this type of pipe work?

Captian Fear

SSCBen

Re: Type of Pipe

Post by SSCBen » Thu Jul 17, 2008 1:43 pm

If the pipe and fittings are pressure rated, yes, it will work. However, from what I know it is difficult to find pressure rated ABS pipe and fittings.

isoaker

Post by isoaker » Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:50 pm

If you believe this guy, ABS pipe may actually be preferred over PVC for a WBL-type water weapon. However, I'd personally recommend doing more searching and reading on ABS pipe properties (i.e. pressure rating, durability, etc.). I have no personal experience with ABS piping in this context so I can only guess; I only know as much as I've read so far. :goofy: Heck, don't forget to talk to the people at the hardware store, too, as they may have had more hands-on experience and knowledge when it comes to how ABS-piping behaves in practice.

Otherwise good luck with your project and keep us informed of your findings and progress!

:cool:
:: Leave NO one dry! :: iSoaker.com .:

Silence

Post by Silence » Thu Jul 17, 2008 4:16 pm

ABS just splits if it can't handle the pressure. PVC shatters into sharp, high-velocity shards.

So yeah, if both have the same pressure rating, then go with ABS. Non-pressure-rated ABS is safer than pressure-rated PVC but it's pointless since it may just split every time. :p

teamfear

Type of Pipe

Post by teamfear » Fri Jul 18, 2008 9:11 am

Thanks for the help guys. If ABS is safer i think that would be the best for may wbl. Isoaker your point about asking the people at the stor ewould probably be very helpful because that stuff is their trade.